BitcoinATM.news

Federal Regulatory Notice

Covered money services businesses must register with FinCEN. Registration does not confer approval or a license to operate nationwide. State licensing requirements and kiosk restrictions must be checked separately. Source: FinCEN notice on convertible virtual currency kiosks.

How to read this guide

Compare transaction limits, fees, and consumer protections using the official sources linked below. Each summary has its own review date. The page update date does not mean every state has been reviewed again.

These are summaries of selected requirements, not determinations that a particular operator is licensed. Check the applicable regulator and enacted law before relying on a limit or refund rule.

51
States and D.C. covered
State-specific
Transaction Limits
Source-linked
Fee Requirements

Quick Reference Table

Dated summaries of selected state requirements. Follow the reviewed date to the source; this table is not a complete compliance checklist.

State New Customer Limit Existing Customer Limit Customer Period / Other Limits Fee Cap Status Reviewed / source
Arizona$2,000/day$10,500/dayFirst 10 daysNot specified in cited lawActive2026-09-05
Arkansas$2,000/day$7,500/dayFirst 72 hours$5 or 18%; see statuteActive2026-09-05
California$1,000/day$1,000/dayAll customersGreater of $5 or 15%Active2026-09-05
Colorado$2,000/day$10,500/dayFirst 7 daysNot specified in cited lawActive2026-09-05
Connecticut$2,000/day$5,000/dayFewer than 3 transactions AND under 72 hours15%Active2026-09-05
Illinois$2,500/day$10,500/dayEarlier of 3 transactions or 7 daysGreater of $5 or 18%Active2026-09-05
Iowa$1,000/day$1,000/dayFirst 30 days; $10,000 total during that periodGreater of $5 or 15%Active2026-09-05
Maine$1,000/day$1,000/dayAll customersGreater of $5 or 3%Active2026-09-05
Maryland$2,000/day$10,500/dayFirst transaction and following 72 hoursGreater of $5 or 15%Active2026-09-05
MinnesotaProhibitedProhibitedNot applicableNot applicableBanned from August 1, 20262026-09-05
Nebraska$2,000/day$10,500/dayFirst 14 days18%Active2026-09-05
Oklahoma$2,000/dayNot specified in cited lawFirst 72 hours15%Active2026-09-05
Rhode Island$2,000/day$5,000/dayFirst 30 daysNot specified in cited lawActive2026-09-05
South Dakota$1,000/day$1,000/day$10,000 per 30 days for all users25%Active2026-09-05
Utah$2,000/day$5,000/day3 calendar days following first-transaction dayNot specified in cited lawActive2026-09-05
VermontProhibitedProhibitedNot applicableNot applicableBanned from July 1, 20262026-09-05
Virginia$2,000/day when effective$5,000/day when effective$10,000/month; new-user transactions held 48 hours18% when effectiveEffective July 1, 20272026-09-05
Wisconsin$1,000/day$1,000/dayAll customersNot specified in cited lawActive2026-09-05

State Regulation Details

Choose a state for its dated summary, primary sources, and related reporting.

AL

Alabama

Summary statusPending Legislation
Reviewed2026-04-28
AK

Alaska

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
AZ

Arizona

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
AR

Arkansas

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
CA

California

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
CO

Colorado

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
CT

Connecticut

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
DE

Delaware

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
DC

District of Columbia

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-04-28
FL

Florida

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
GA

Georgia

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-04-28
HI

Hawaii

Summary statusPending Legislation
Reviewed2026-04-28
ID

Idaho

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
IL

Illinois

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
IN

Indiana

Summary statusBanned 2026
Reviewed2026-03-14
IA

Iowa

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
KS

Kansas

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
KY

Kentucky

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
LA

Louisiana

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
ME

Maine

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
MD

Maryland

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
MA

Massachusetts

Summary statusGeneral (Fact Specific)
Reviewed2026-04-28
MI

Michigan

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
MN

Minnesota

Summary statusBanned from August 1, 2026
Reviewed2026-09-05
MS

Mississippi

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
MO

Missouri

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-04-28
MT

Montana

Summary statusGeneral (No State MTL)
Reviewed2026-03-24
NE

Nebraska

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
NV

Nevada

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
NH

New Hampshire

Summary statusPending Signature
Reviewed2026-04-28
NJ

New Jersey

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
NM

New Mexico

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
NY

New York

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
NC

North Carolina

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
ND

North Dakota

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
OH

Ohio

Summary statusGeneral (MTL Required)
Reviewed2026-03-24
OK

Oklahoma

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
OR

Oregon

Summary statusGeneral (Fact Specific)
Reviewed2026-03-24
PA

Pennsylvania

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
RI

Rhode Island

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
SC

South Carolina

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
SD

South Dakota

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
TN

Tennessee

Summary statusBanned 2026
Reviewed2026-04-25
TX

Texas

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
UT

Utah

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
VT

Vermont

Summary statusBanned from July 1, 2026
Reviewed2026-09-05
VA

Virginia

Summary statusEffective July 1, 2027
Reviewed2026-09-05
WA

Washington

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
WV

West Virginia

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24
WI

Wisconsin

Summary statusActive
Reviewed2026-09-05
WY

Wyoming

Summary statusGeneral Licensing
Reviewed2026-03-24

Understanding the Regulations

New vs. Existing Customers

New-customer definitions differ by state. They may depend on elapsed time, completed transactions, or both. Check the cited law for how daily, monthly, and initial-customer limits interact.

KYC Requirements

Identity verification and recordkeeping requirements depend on the applicable federal and state rules. State guides link to the relevant sources; operators should check which information must be collected and retained.

Fee Caps

Fee limits vary by state. Some combine a percentage with a fixed-dollar amount, and the law may include the exchange-rate spread in the calculation. The comparison table gives the applicable source and qualifications.

Money Transmitter Licensing

Most states require Bitcoin ATM operators to hold a Money Transmitter License (MTL). This involves background checks, surety bonds, and ongoing compliance reporting. Unlicensed operation can result in significant penalties.

Frequently Asked Questions

Common terms and questions about Bitcoin ATM regulations

What does MTL mean?

MTL stands for Money Transmitter License. This is a state-issued license required for businesses that transfer money or monetary value on behalf of others. Bitcoin ATM operators must obtain an MTL in most states to legally operate their machines.

What is KYC?

KYC stands for Know Your Customer. These are identity verification procedures that require operators to collect and verify customer information such as government-issued ID, name, address, and date of birth before allowing transactions.

What is a "new customer period"?

The new customer period is the time window after a customer's first transaction during which they are subject to lower transaction limits. This period varies by state (72 hours to 30 days) and is designed to prevent fraud by limiting exposure for new, unverified users.

What is FinCEN?

FinCEN is the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network, a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury. Covered money services businesses must register with FinCEN. Registration is separate from state licensing and does not authorize operation in a state that prohibits kiosks.

What does "fee cap" mean?

A fee cap is the maximum total percentage or amount that operators can charge customers for a transaction. This includes all fees, spreads, and other charges combined. For example, an 18% fee cap means the total cost cannot exceed 18% of the transaction amount.

What is AML compliance?

AML stands for Anti-Money Laundering. AML compliance includes the policies, procedures, and controls that operators must implement to detect and report suspicious financial activities. This includes transaction monitoring, record-keeping, and filing Suspicious Activity Reports (SARs).

Disclaimer: This information is provided for educational purposes only and should not be considered legal advice. Regulations change frequently. Always verify current requirements with state regulatory authorities or consult with a qualified attorney before conducting cryptocurrency transactions.