Oklahoma Bitcoin ATM Regulations
Oklahoma limits new customers to $2,000 per day for their first 72 hours. Aggregate charges, including the difference from prevailing market value, are capped at 15%. Kiosk operators must hold the required money-transmitter license.
Review and sources
Summary reviewed: . Official source. This is a dated summary; later amendments may change these requirements.
Overview
Oklahoma limits new customers to $2,000 per day for their first 72 hours. Aggregate charges, including the difference from prevailing market value, are capped at 15%. Kiosk operators must hold the required money-transmitter license.
Sources and legislation
This summary covers selected kiosk provisions. Licensing, disclosures, identification, and refund conditions must be read in the full law.
Transaction limits and fees in Oklahoma
New customers are limited to $2,000/day (First 72 hours).
Existing customers are limited to Not specified in cited law.
Fees are capped at: 15%.
Anyone urging you to split a payment across several machines, operators or days to get around a limit is showing a common scam warning sign.
Key dates
- Effective date of the kiosk provisions: .
- Enacted as: Oklahoma 6 O.S. §§ 1520, 1520.1.
- We last reviewed this summary against the official source on .
How Oklahoma compares
Oklahoma is one of 18 jurisdictions in our dataset with a kiosk-specific transaction limit, and one of 17 with a fee cap. See every state side by side on the regulations overview.
Rules change at the state line. If you live near a border, the kiosk you use may be governed by a neighbor's law:
| Neighboring state | Status | Daily limit | Fee cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arkansas | Active | $2,000/day | $5 or 18%; see statute |
| Colorado | Active | $2,000/day | Not specified in cited law |
| Kansas | Active | $1,000/day | $5 or 18% |
| Missouri | Active | Varies | None recorded |
| New Mexico | General Licensing | None recorded | None recorded |
| Texas | General Licensing | None recorded | None recorded |
Federal rules that apply in Oklahoma
State law sits on top of federal requirements that apply to every Bitcoin ATM operator in the United States, including in Oklahoma:
- Money services business registration. Kiosk operators are money transmitters under the Bank Secrecy Act and must register with FinCEN.
- Anti-money-laundering program. Operators must run a written AML program with a compliance officer, training, and independent review.
- Reporting. Operators file Suspicious Activity Reports and Currency Transaction Reports for cash transactions over $10,000 in a day.
- Sanctions screening. Transactions involving sanctioned persons or wallets are prohibited under OFAC rules.
These federal duties explain why kiosks ask for a phone number, ID, or a selfie as amounts rise — identification tiers are how operators meet them.
Bitcoin ATM scam warnings
The biggest risk at a Bitcoin ATM is a scammer directing the payment. The same scripts appear in Oklahoma as nationwide:
- Government or police impersonation — a caller says you owe a fine or your accounts are frozen and must be "protected" in Bitcoin.
- Tech-support and bank-fraud alerts — a pop-up or call claims your computer or bank account is compromised.
- Romance and investment schemes — an online contact steers you to "invest" or send help through a kiosk.
- Utility shut-off threats — a caller demands immediate payment to keep service on.
No government agency, utility, bank, or legitimate business asks to be paid through a Bitcoin ATM. If someone is on the phone telling you which buttons to press or gives you a QR code to scan, stop. Bitcoin transactions are generally irreversible once confirmed.
Find a Bitcoin ATM in Oklahoma
Compare locations, operators, trust grades and reported hours in the Oklahoma Bitcoin ATM directory, or read how Bitcoin ATM fees work before you go.
Frequently asked questions
Are Bitcoin ATMs legal in Oklahoma?
Yes, Bitcoin ATMs can operate in Oklahoma. Oklahoma limits new customers to $2,000 per day for their first 72 hours. Aggregate charges, including the difference from prevailing market value, are capped at 15%. Kiosk operators must hold the required money-transmitter license.
What is the Bitcoin ATM daily limit in Oklahoma?
New customers: $2,000/day. Existing customers: Not specified in cited law.
Is there a cap on Bitcoin ATM fees in Oklahoma?
Yes. Fees are capped at: 15%.
Where do I report a Bitcoin ATM scam in Oklahoma?
Contact the operator's support line immediately (the number is on the kiosk and receipt), then file reports with local police, the FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center (ic3.gov), and the FTC (reportfraud.ftc.gov). You can also contact the Oklahoma regulator through the official source linked on this page.