Colorado Bitcoin ATM Regulations
Colorado limits new customers to $2,000 per day and existing customers to $10,500. A customer remains new for seven days. The Colorado Vending of Digital Assets Act also addresses warnings, receipts, fraud prevention, and refunds.
Review and sources
Summary reviewed: . Official source. This is a dated summary; later amendments may change these requirements.
Overview
Colorado limits new customers to $2,000 per day and existing customers to $10,500. A customer remains new for seven days. The Colorado Vending of Digital Assets Act also addresses warnings, receipts, fraud prevention, and refunds.
Sources and legislation
This summary covers selected kiosk provisions. Licensing, disclosures, identification, and refund conditions must be read in the full law.
Transaction limits and fees in Colorado
New customers are limited to $2,000/day (First 7 days).
Existing customers are limited to $10,500/day.
Fees are capped at: Not specified in cited law.
Anyone urging you to split a payment across several machines, operators or days to get around a limit is showing a common scam warning sign.
Key dates
- Enacted as: Colorado SB25-079.
- We last reviewed this summary against the official source on .
How Colorado compares
Colorado is one of 18 jurisdictions in our dataset with a kiosk-specific transaction limit, and one of 17 with a fee cap. See every state side by side on the regulations overview.
Rules change at the state line. If you live near a border, the kiosk you use may be governed by a neighbor's law:
| Neighboring state | Status | Daily limit | Fee cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Active | $2,000/day | Not specified in cited law |
| Kansas | Active | $1,000/day | $5 or 18% |
| Nebraska | Active | $2,000/day | 18% |
| New Mexico | General Licensing | None recorded | None recorded |
| Oklahoma | Active | $2,000/day | 15% |
| Utah | Active | $2,000/day | Not specified in cited law |
| Wyoming | General Licensing | None recorded | None recorded |
Federal rules that apply in Colorado
State law sits on top of federal requirements that apply to every Bitcoin ATM operator in the United States, including in Colorado:
- Money services business registration. Kiosk operators are money transmitters under the Bank Secrecy Act and must register with FinCEN.
- Anti-money-laundering program. Operators must run a written AML program with a compliance officer, training, and independent review.
- Reporting. Operators file Suspicious Activity Reports and Currency Transaction Reports for cash transactions over $10,000 in a day.
- Sanctions screening. Transactions involving sanctioned persons or wallets are prohibited under OFAC rules.
These federal duties explain why kiosks ask for a phone number, ID, or a selfie as amounts rise — identification tiers are how operators meet them.
Bitcoin ATM scam warnings
The biggest risk at a Bitcoin ATM is a scammer directing the payment. The same scripts appear in Colorado as nationwide:
- Government or police impersonation — a caller says you owe a fine or your accounts are frozen and must be "protected" in Bitcoin.
- Tech-support and bank-fraud alerts — a pop-up or call claims your computer or bank account is compromised.
- Romance and investment schemes — an online contact steers you to "invest" or send help through a kiosk.
- Utility shut-off threats — a caller demands immediate payment to keep service on.
No government agency, utility, bank, or legitimate business asks to be paid through a Bitcoin ATM. If someone is on the phone telling you which buttons to press or gives you a QR code to scan, stop. Bitcoin transactions are generally irreversible once confirmed.
Find a Bitcoin ATM in Colorado
Compare locations, operators, trust grades and reported hours in the Colorado Bitcoin ATM directory, or read how Bitcoin ATM fees work before you go.
Frequently asked questions
Are Bitcoin ATMs legal in Colorado?
Yes, Bitcoin ATMs can operate in Colorado. Colorado limits new customers to $2,000 per day and existing customers to $10,500. A customer remains new for seven days. The Colorado Vending of Digital Assets Act also addresses warnings, receipts, fraud prevention, and refunds.
What is the Bitcoin ATM daily limit in Colorado?
New customers: $2,000/day. Existing customers: $10,500/day.
Is there a cap on Bitcoin ATM fees in Colorado?
Yes. Fees are capped at: Not specified in cited law.
Where do I report a Bitcoin ATM scam in Colorado?
Contact the operator's support line immediately (the number is on the kiosk and receipt), then file reports with local police, the FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center (ic3.gov), and the FTC (reportfraud.ftc.gov). You can also contact the Colorado regulator through the official source linked on this page.