BitcoinATM.news
North Dakota HB 1447 Requires Bitcoin ATM Operators to License as Money Transmitters, Caps Daily Transactions at $2,000

North Dakota HB 1447 Requires Bitcoin ATM Operators to License as Money Transmitters, Caps Daily Transactions at $2,000

North Dakota's HB 1447 bars any virtual-currency kiosk operator from doing business in the state unless it is licensed as a money transmitter, and it pairs that licensing requirement with a $2,000 daily transaction cap, mandatory disclosures, secured receipts, blockchain-analytics fraud controls, and dedicated full-time compliance and consumer-protection staff. The bill was signed and filed with the Secretary of State on April 11, 2025, creating new rules in NDCC sections 13-09.1-50 through 13-09.1-54.

Supporting source image for north dakota hb 1447 overview.
North Dakota HB 1447 overview Source: ndlegis.gov

For operators and the states still drafting their own kiosk bills, North Dakota is worth watching because it tests a specific structure: hold operators accountable through state licensure and staff them with named compliance officers, while constraining transactions at the point of sale with a daily cap and disclosures. The enrolled bill does not include a fee ceiling.

Bill: North Dakota HB 1447

Codified at: NDCC sections 13-09.1-50 through 13-09.1-54

Signed/filed with Secretary of State: April 11, 2025

Core requirement: Money transmitter license to operate kiosks

Licensing as a Money Transmitter Is the Foundation

The bill's threshold requirement is structural. Under HB 1447, a virtual-currency kiosk operator may not engage in virtual-currency business activity in North Dakota unless licensed as a money transmitter. That folds Bitcoin ATM operators into the state's existing money-transmission supervision regime rather than creating a standalone kiosk license — meaning operators inherit the obligations, examinations, and enforcement exposure that money transmitters already carry in North Dakota.

What HB 1447 Requires

The enrolled bill builds a layered compliance and consumer-protection framework on top of the licensing requirement:

Core Provisions of HB 1447 (NDCC 13-09.1-50 to 13-09.1-54):

  • Money transmitter license: Required before engaging in virtual-currency business activity in the state.
  • Quarterly location reports: Operators must report kiosk locations in the state, due within 45 days after the end of each calendar quarter.
  • Disclosures: Operators must disclose risks, fees, exchange rates, transaction details, and relevant law-enforcement reporting information.
  • Secured receipts: After each transaction, operators must provide a physical or digital receipt secured with two-factor identification.
  • Fraud controls: Blockchain analytics, written anti-fraud policies, and an enhanced due diligence policy.
  • Staffing: A full-time compliance officer, full-time compliance staff for required compliance work, and a full-time consumer protection officer.
  • Daily cap: No more than $2,000 per calendar day with a single customer across one or more kiosks operated by the same operator.
  • Live customer service: At minimum Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Central Time.

The Compliance and Staffing Mandate

What sets HB 1447 apart from a disclosure-and-warning regime is its insistence on staffed accountability inside the operator. The bill requires a full-time compliance officer — who may not own more than 20 percent of the operator — full-time compliance staff to perform the required compliance work, and a separate full-time consumer protection officer.

The ownership restriction is a structural independence measure. It keeps the compliance function from being held by a controlling owner, separating the person policing the business from the person with the largest stake in it.

Paired with mandatory blockchain analytics, written anti-fraud policies, and an enhanced due diligence policy, the staffing requirements signal that North Dakota expects operators to build and maintain a functioning compliance apparatus rather than bolt on a warning screen. The enrolled bill does not specify what enhanced due diligence must include beyond standard know-your-customer requirements.

The $2,000 Daily Cap

The daily transaction ceiling is the single most consequential consumer-facing number in the bill. HB 1447 limits transactions to no more than $2,000 per calendar day with a single customer — and that ceiling applies across one or more kiosks operated by the same operator, closing the workaround of splitting a large sum across multiple machines run by the same company.

$2,000
Daily transaction cap per customer, per operator
45 days
Deadline for quarterly location reports after quarter-end
20%
Max ownership stake allowed for compliance officer

The cap is a flat single figure rather than a tiered structure. The enrolled bill does not explain the legislature's rationale for selecting $2,000 as the cap amount, and the source packet does not attach a projected fraud-reduction figure to it.

No Fee Ceiling in the Enrolled Bill

One observation from the enrolled text: HB 1447 regulates conduct, accountability, and transaction size, but the bill does not set a cap on the fees operators charge. Instead, the disclosure regime requires operators to disclose fees and exchange rates before a transaction. The source packet does not address legislative intent behind the absence of a fee ceiling, nor its effect on operator margins.

Disclosures, Receipts, and Live Support

Before a customer transacts, HB 1447 requires disclosure of risks, fees, exchange rates, transaction details, and the relevant law-enforcement reporting information — the contact points a victim would need to report fraud. After the transaction, the operator must provide a physical or digital receipt secured with two-factor identification.

The live-customer-service requirement is concrete: operators must staff support at a minimum Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Central Time. That weekday window gives a customer a human to reach during the specified hours, though the statutory minimum does not require weekend coverage.

What the North Dakota Regulator Says

The North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions' consumer guidance on crypto ATMs echoes the statute: HB 1447 limits daily transactions to $2,000, mandates risk, fee, and transaction disclosures, requires receipts, requires fraud-detection measures, and requires live customer service. The DFI guidance functions as the consumer-facing summary of the operator obligations the bill imposes.

Supporting source image for north dakota hb 1447 enrolled pdf.
North Dakota HB 1447 enrolled PDF Source: ndlegis.gov

What the Bill Doesn't Answer

The enrolled text and the DFI consumer guidance both describe the consumer-protection framework — the $2,000 cap, the disclosures, the receipts, the fraud-detection measures, and the live customer service requirement — but several operationally critical questions remain open in the source packet.

Open Questions:

  • Refund mechanism: If the framework includes scam-victim relief, the source packet does not specify whether it is operator-funded, state-administered, or tied to a dedicated fund — nor the claim procedures or eligibility windows. This is the provision most likely to determine whether the law has financial teeth.
  • Cross-operator enforcement: The cap is enforced across the same operator's kiosks, but how the state will verify compliance across multiple locations is not detailed in the source.
  • Application logistics: The cost, timeline, and process for obtaining a money transmitter license — and whether operators have begun applying — are governed by the broader money-transmission regime, not spelled out in the bill summary.
  • Penalties and enforcement agency: The specific penalties for violations and the administering agency's enforcement priorities are not detailed in the source packet.

What This Means for North Dakota Consumers

If you use a Bitcoin ATM in North Dakota, the law adds protections you should actually use:

Practical impact:

  • You cannot move more than $2,000 through a single operator's kiosks in one calendar day.
  • You are entitled to a receipt for every transaction, secured with two-factor identification. Keep it; it is your record if you later need to dispute or report.
  • Operators must disclose risks, fees, exchange rates, and transaction details — and provide law-enforcement reporting information. Read these before you transact, and treat any pressure to ignore them as a red flag.
  • Live customer service is required at minimum Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Central Time. If something feels wrong during those hours, call.
  • If you are victimized, document everything and consult consumer protection resources immediately.

The single most important point: no legitimate business, government agency, or online romantic partner will ever ask you to pay via a Bitcoin ATM. Treat any such request as a scam.

What This Means for Operators

HB 1447 sets a demanding compliance framework, and operators in other states should treat it as a model that may spread.

What to Watch Next

The decisive operational details — particularly how, or whether, scam-victim relief is funded and administered — are not resolved in the source packet. Watch for North Dakota DFI to publish implementing guidance clarifying application procedures, claim processes, penalty structures, and enforcement priorities. And watch whether major operators license up as money transmitters and staff the required compliance roles, or withdraw from the state rather than carry the headcount. As more states craft their own kiosk bills, the open question is which one adopts North Dakota's license-plus-guardrails approach next — and which reaches for a fee cap or a ban instead.